1 million tons CO2

can be saved in Germany’s clouds and data processing centres if we can reduce the power consumption of software by 20%. Year after year in Germany alone. Savings made by users not included. This is a down-to- earth realistic aim: The German Federal Environment Agency ascertains in a study a difference of almost 20% in power consumption even with applications as simple as “text processing”.

1 million tons CO2

can be saved in Germany’s clouds and data processing centres if we can reduce the power consumption of software by 20%. Year after year in Germany alone. Savings made by users not included. This is a down-to- earth realistic aim: The German Federal Environment Agency ascertains in a study a difference of almost 20% in power consumption even with applications as simple as “text processing”.

Note: Our next webinar “Implementing Green Software Design – Green Software on the living object” will be held on 28th of October at 10 A.M. Register for free now!
Please note: “We offer our webinars in german language only”.

The advantages of Green Software Design for you at a glance

Sustainability is already firmly anchored in many companies. Therefore, it is important to make the results of Green Software Design communicable – including in the sustainability reports, and to bring the procedure in line with existing processes for environmental management or climate management. SYNGENIO’s approach makes it possible to establish the link between Green Software Design and the relevant standards at any time: GRI guidelines, GHG protocol, the German Sustainability Code or ISO 14064. Depending on the company, there is more or less to consider here. The SYNGENIO consultants are happy to assist you.

ecological benefit:

  • noticeable contribution to climate protection
  • initiative for redusicng power consumption

economical benefit:

  • more efficient software
  • saving in operations
  • saving in development
  • positive recognition to the outside

Green Software Design is sustainable software engineering

Sustainability is getting more important – for businesses as well. Customers, employees, banks, investors and law are demanding for climate conscious actions. Due to digitalization apps and web-applications have become centre of customer approach. IT therefore has become a fundamental part of customer communication.

As of today Green IT focused around hardware and its operation. The achievements in those fields are astonishing, though potentials have been exploited. That’s why software development has now become centre of attention. Since more efficient software requires less resources in the first place.

Green Software Design includes Best Practices for climate friendly applications. Methods, tools, reliable data and practical approaches are the focus of attention. GSD consequently avoids waste. This not only improves climate footprint but also your business’ balance. It saves electricity as well as it prevents Over Engineering to ensure longevity.

Developing software sustainably

What makes Green Software Design?

Green Software Design means designing software to be “green aware” from the start:

Klimaeffizienz Von Software

Setting climate efficiency

as a goal as well as security, usability/accessibility, economical and social goals

Software Ressourcenverbrauch Verringern

Reducing resource consumption

reducing and introducing non-functional requirements into development process

Klimafreundliche Software

Aiming for climate benefits

by implementing finalized software

Klimaneutrale Software Entwickeln

Optimising the carbon footprint

improving by optimizing software throughout the lifecycle

Green Software Design integrates all aspects of sustainable software design: scope, specification, architecture, design, implementation. The usage phase is also considered: Maintainability, moderate user hardware requirements, CO2-reduction through use of the software. GSD is independent of specific development methods. Combining it with an agile approach is obvious, but classic methods can also be used.

Carbon-neutral software

The path to carbon-neutral software is through Green Software Design. Because serious carbon neutrality means pursuing the improvements seriously and not being too quick to resort to offsetting. This means: The better we all understand and apply Green Software Design, the better we will live up to the promise of carbon neutrality.

Carbon-neutral software development

Sustainable software engineering in practice

Green Software Design doesn’t turn everything upside down. It adds to the development process. Questions certain requirements and reinforces known Best Practices: e.g. agility and long-term advancement are key for sustainable software.

Above all it brings new, exciting aspects to the developing process. System- and software architecture is important. That’s why architects are needed. Everyday work of engineers will be simplified due to tools that measure efficiency and help to identify scopes of measures.

Most important though, is the exchange of experiences. Because there is too few data that can be compared to frameworks, components or basic porducts. Every bit counts! And everybody can be part of it!

How green is your software?

Back To Top

1 Million Tonnen CO2

1 Million Tonnen CO2

Soviel CO2 lässt sich in Deutschlands Clouds und Rechenzentren einsparen, wenn wir den Stromverbrauch von Software um knapp 20% senken. Jahr für Jahr. Allein in Deutschland. Einsparungen auf Seiten der Benutzer und ihrer Geräte noch nicht einmal eingerechnet. Das ist ein realistisches Ziel: Eine Studie des Umweltbundesamtes hat selbst für einfache Anwendungs-Kategorien wie “Textverarbeitung” Unterschiede von knapp 20% beim Stromverbrauch ermittelt.

1 Million Tonnen CO2

1 Million Tonnen CO2

Soviel CO2 lässt sich in Deutschlands Clouds und Rechenzentren einsparen, wenn wir den Stromverbrauch von Software um knapp 20% senken. Jahr für Jahr. Allein in Deutschland. Einsparungen auf Seiten der Benutzer und ihrer Geräte noch nicht einmal eingerechnet. Das ist ein realistisches Ziel: Eine Studie des Umweltbundesamtes hat selbst für einfache Anwendungs-Kategorien wie “Textverarbeitung” Unterschiede von knapp 20% beim Stromverbrauch ermittelt.

Hinweis: Am 28. Juli um 10:00 Uhr findet unser nächstes Webinar statt! In einem kostenfreien Webinar verraten wir Ihnen, wie Sie mit Hilfe unseres Green Software Expertyzers ganz einfach grüne Softwareentwicklung umsetzen können. Sichern Sie sich jetzt Ihren kostenlosen Platz! Die Anmeldung ist jetzt freigeschaltet!

Die Vorteile von Green Software Design für Sie im Überblick

In vielen Unternehmen ist Nachhaltigkeit bereits fest verankert. Daher gilt es, die Ergebnisse von Green Software Design kommunizierbar zu machen – auch in den Nachhaltigkeitsberichten. Und das Vorgehen in Einklang zu bringen mit bestehenden Prozessen zum Umweltmanagement oder Klimamanagement. Der Ansatz von SYNGENIO erlaubt es, jederzeit den Bezug zwischen Green Software Design und den relevanten Standards herzustellen: GRI-Richtlinien, GHG-Protokoll, Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitskodex oder ISO 14064. Je nach Unternehmen ist hier mehr oder weniger zu beachten. Die SYNGENIO-Berater unterstützen Sie gerne.

Ökologischer Nutzen:

  • Sichtbarer Beitrag zum Klimaschutz
  • Initiative zur Energieeinsparung

Ökonomischer Nutzen:

  • Effizientere Software
  • Einsparungen im Betrieb
  • Einsparungen in der Entwicklung
  • Positive Wahrnehmung nach außen

Green Software Design ist nachhaltige Software-Entwicklung

Nachhaltigkeit wird auch für Unternehmen immer wichtiger. Kunden, Mitarbeiter, Banken, Investoren und der Gesetzgeber fordern klimabewusstes Handeln ein. Durch die Digitalisierung rücken Apps und Web-Applikationen in den Mittelpunkt der Kundenansprache. Damit ist IT direkter Teil der Kundenkommunikation.

Bisher lag der Fokus von Green IT auf der Hardware und deren Betrieb. Die Erfolge in diesen Bereichen sind beeindruckend, die Potentiale inzwischen aber oft weitgehend ausgereizt. Jetzt rückt nachhaltige Software-Entwicklung selbst in den Mittelpunkt. Denn effizientere Software verbraucht von vornherein weniger Ressourcen.

Green Software Design umfasst Best Practices für klima-optimierte Anwendungen. Methoden, Tools, verlässliche Messwerte und praktikables Vorgehen stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt. Das verbessert letztlich neben der Klimabilanz auch die Unternehmensbilanz. Denn GSD vermeidet Verschwendung konsequent. Nicht nur Strom wird gespart, sondern es wird auch Over Engineering verhindert und auf Langlebigkeit Wert gelegt.

Software nachhaltig entwickeln
Software nachhaltig entwickeln

Was macht Green Software Design aus?

Green Software Design bedeutet, Software von Beginn an „Green Aware“ zu gestalten:

Klimaeffizienz Von Software

Klimaeffizienz

als Ziel setzen und mit Security, Usability/Barrierefreiheit, ökonomischen und sozialen Zielen in Einklang bringen

Software Ressourcenverbrauch Verringern

Ressourcenverbrauch

verringern und als nicht-funktionale Anforderung in die Entwicklung einbeziehen

Klimafreundliche Software

Climate Benefits

durch den Einsatz der fertigen Software anstreben

Klimaneutrale Software Entwickeln

Klimabilanz

 über den gesamten Lebenszyklus der Software optimieren

Green Software Design bezieht dabei alle Aspekte der nachhaltigen Software-Entwicklung ein: Scope, Spezifikation, Architektur, Design, Implementierung. Auch die Nutzungsphase wird berücksichtigt: Wartbarkeit, moderate Anforderungen an die Hardware der Nutzer, CO2-Reduktion durch den Einsatz der Software. GSD ist unabhängig von spezifischen Entwicklungsmethoden. Die Kombination mit agilem Vorgehen ist naheliegend, klassische Methoden können aber ebenso zum Einsatz kommen.

Klimaneutrale Software

Der Weg zu klimaneutraler Software führt über Green Software Design. Denn seriöse Klimaneutralität bedeutet, die Verbesserungen ernsthaft zu betreiben und nicht vorschnell zur Kompensation zu greifen. Das heißt: Je besser wir alle Green Software Design verstehen und anwenden, desto besser werden wir dem Versprechen der Klimaneutralität gerecht.

Klimaneutrale Software-Entwicklung

Nachhaltige Software-Entwicklung in der Praxis

Green Software Design stellt nicht alles auf den Kopf. Es ergänzt den Entwicklungsprozess. Stellt auch mal Anforderungen in Frage. Verstärkt bekannte Best Practices: Der aus der Agilität bekannte Fokus auf langfristige Weiterentwicklung trägt nämlich auch zu nachhaltiger Software bei.

Vor allem aber führt es neue, spannende Aspekte in die Entwicklung ein. Große Hebel liegen naturgemäß in der System- und Software-Architektur. Architekten sind daher besonders gefragt. Aber auch die tägliche Arbeit der Software Engineers wird bereichert. Denn es gibt sie, die Werkzeuge, mit denen man Effizienz messen kann. Mit denen man Knackpunkte findet und angeht.

Ganz wichtig ist dabei der Erfahrungsaustausch. Denn noch gibt es zu wenig Messwerte, mit denen sich Frameworks, Komponenten oder Basis-Produkte einfach vergleichen ließen. Jeder Beitrag hilft – und jedes Green Software Projekt kann Beiträge leisten.

Wie grün ist Ihre Software?